In Stock
You Might Also Like

Customer Reviews
Tips for writing a great review:
  • Use the product before reviewing it.
  • Focus on this product and be specific (minimum of 50 characters).
  • Contact Customer Service with any issues not specific to this product.
  • Please see our full review guidelines .
  • Mike Payne
    November 1, 2021
    A fantastic, true to form album from one of my favorite bands. The guys sound amazing. “Really Great” is officially one of my all time favs
  • Ryan
    October 25, 2021
    I have been a lifelong Connell’s fan since day-one and I have been waiting decades for this release; and you would never know they took a few days off in between recordings…and they picked right back up where they left us last. Great job guys! Solid album! Thank you! Can’t wait to see you all in January.
  • Christopher
    October 20, 2021
    A magnificent record that shows the band has never written or performed at anything other than at the highest level. Song For Duncan is simply beautiful and may be my favourite Connells song ever. See. Them. Live.
  • Chuck Humphrey
    October 18, 2021
    I could review this album with two words: Really Great. Which ironically is the title of the lead off track. So I will follow up by saying Steadman’s Wake is yet another classic by the Connells. The jangle you love is there. The melodies that stick in your head after only one listen are there. Another stellar addition to their canon. Here’s to hoping we don’t have to wait another 20 years.
  • Dr. Daniel R. Schweers
    October 18, 2021
    Steadman's Wake is the first release from the Connells since the "Old School Dropouts" CD {2001}. Despite the 20 year 'break', the band is in fine form. Chief songwriter Mike Connell has crafted an exceptional batch of songs that reflect a number of styles and arrangements. In addition, several of the songs are the most politically-pointed the Connells have ever released {see the title tune, among others}. Mike wrote 3 of the songs for the members of his immediate family, and he assumes lead vocals on those. {"Song for Duncan," written for Mike's oldest son, is especially powerful, as Mike sings of his hopes and wishes for his child. Very emotional!} All of the songs on the album are tuneful and catchy, and there are several that set a quieter tone that is better-suited to the subject matter. Listening to this CD, it's hard to believe that 20 years have passed. That band appears not to have missed a beat. This is a great collection of songs with lots of hooks and sing-along melodies. Moreover, it's one of those albums that sounds better with each listen. Highly recommended!
  • Jamie
    October 13, 2021
    Along time coming and The Connells did not disappoint! Steadmans Wake has it all. From the perfect progression of their sound which can be heard with Stars, to the haunting sound of the title track. One more fantastic cd by The Connells to go with all the others! Thanks Guys!!!
  • Tim Wimpee
    October 13, 2021
    Excellent album. Universal Glue and Stars are two of the best Connells songs I have ever heard. The entire album is very strong. Caught the show in Nashville and hope to see another show soon. Very glad to see the boys back.
  • Tommy
    October 13, 2021
    As a lifelong Connells fan, I was thrilled that this release, even after 20 years since the last one, sounds like the Connells. You need not worry that the band had drastically changed their sound or that the loss of Huntley on lead guitar negatively impacts the band. Mike Ayers NAILS the Connells sound. The new tracks are awesome leaving me kind of wishing for less remakes (Gladiator Heart, Rusted Fields, Hello Walter) even if they are better than the originals and more new stuff. If you like the Connells this is a must purchase. If you dont like the Connells; you are failing at life.
  • Nick Boardman
    October 12, 2021
    What can I say, Steadman's Wake is another solid album from one of my favorite bands growing up! Rusted Fields, Gladiator Heart, and Universal Glue are my 3 favorite tracks. Thanks for providing the digital copy for free with the CD, that saved me the time it would have taken to rip it. Hoping to catch you in concert in either Richmond or Norfolk.